A Longmont World Premiere

Saturday, February 24, 2018―7:30 PM
Vance Brand Civic Auditorium
Elliot Moore, conductor
Matthew Zalkind, cello

MICHAEL UDOW   Mountain Myths  (World Premiere)
SAINT-SAËNS  Cello Concerto No. 1  listen
Matthew Zalkind, cello
TCHAIKOVSKY  Symphony No. 4  listen

Mountain Myths, composed by Longmont resident, Michael Udow, receives its world premiere in this performance that includes American cellist, Matt Zalkind, and Tchaikovsky’s epic Fourth Symphony, in which the composer expresses his triumph over fate.

Adult – $25; Senior (60+)/Active Military – $22; Student (12-18 yrs) – $5; Child (11 and under) – Free

Free pre-concert talk with Elliot Moore—6:30 PM in the Commons area

Longmont Symphony continues exploring ‘New Frontiers’ (SharpsandFlatirons, 2/23/18)

LSO Afterglow Party

Please join us directly following the concert at Bin 46 Wine Bar & Restaurant (600 Longs Peak Ave., Suite H) for happy hour food & drink specials, including an LSO “Wine of Note” – $1 from every Wine of Note glass ordered will be donated back to the Longmont Symphony.

About Matthew Zalkind

Praised for his “impressive refinement, eloquent phrasing, and singing tone” by The New York Times following an Avery Fisher Hall concerto debut, cellist Matthew Zalkind performs regularly as a recitalist, soloist and chamber musician.

As a soloist, Mr. Zalkind has performed concerti with such organizations as the Utah Symphony, the Moscow Chamber Players, the Albany Symphony, the Juilliard Symphony Orchestra, and many orchestras here and abroad. Mr. Zalkind performed the concerti with many celebrated conductors, including Ludovic Morlot, Thierry Fischer, Giancarlo Guerrero, and David Alan Miller. A frequent recitalist, Mr. Zalkind has given solo recitals at the Kennedy Center, Phillips Collection, Tongyeong Arts Center in Korea, Dame Myra Hess series in Chicago, Moscow Conservatory, Juilliard School, and Beijing Concert Hall, and many other venues internationally.

Mr. Zalkind is a regular at dozens of chamber music festivals, including Marlboro and “Musicians from Marlboro” tours. As a member of the Harlem String Quartet from 2013-15, Mr. Zalkind toured to Japan, England, Ethiopia, and every region of the United States with jazz legends Chick Corea, Gary Burton, and Stanley Clarke.

Mr. Zalkind garnered top prizes in the Washington International Competition, Isang Yun International Competition, Beijing International Competition, and the Juilliard School Concerto Competition. Mr. Zalkind is in his second year as Assistant Professor of Cello at the University of Denver’s Lamont School of Music. He received diplomas from Juilliard and the University of Michigan as a student of Richard Aaron and Timothy Eddy. He plays on a rare Italian cello made by Florentine maker Luigi Piatellini c. 1760, and a bow by John Dodd c. 1800.

About Michael Udow

Fulbright-Hayes Fellow, Michael Udow, was the 2014-15 Composer-in-Residence with the Colorado Chamber Orchestra. Michael has composed operas, film scores, orchestral and wind ensemble works as well as numerous chamber music and solo compositions. His distinctive compositional voice alludes categorization. Quite often, his rhythmically engaging complex contrapuntal lines with dense timbres weave effortlessly with memorable melodic lines.

Having retired after a distinguished career at The Santa Fe Opera (Principal Percussion 1968-2009) and the University of Michigan (1982-2011 Emeritus Professor), Michael devotes his full time energies towards composing. Michael continues to provide short term composition and percussion residencies at conservatories and universities around the world, most recently in China, Japan, Korea and the USA. In 2013 this included residencies in China, Japan and Korea. His inspiring composition teachers included Warren Benson, Herbert Brün, Edwin London, Thomas Fredrickson, Paul Steg, Wlodzimierz Kotoński and he credits Salvatore Martirano, Ben Johnston, Gordon Binkerd, Morgan Powell and Neely Bruce for their informative contributions. Michael’s exceptional percussion education began with Doc Meyer and continued with Bob Lee, F. Michael Combs, Jack McKenzie, Frederick Fairchild, Russell Hartenberger Michael Ranta, Alan Abel and his BM, MM & DMA professor, Thomas Siwe.

Michael recently completed Stepping Stones, a marimba duet, for Eriko Daimo and Pius Cheung and is currently completing a new orchestral and a new wind ensemble work.

Share this: