Loading Events

PYOTR TCHAIKOVSKY Variations on a Rococo Theme for cello and orchestra 
RICHARD STRAUSS Serenade for 13 Winds 
FRANZ JOSEPH HAYDN Symphony No. 96, “The Miracle” 
Anchored by the charming and energetic “Miracle” symphony of Franz Joseph “Papa” Haydn, this chamber orchestra program presents a set of delights to please all ears. Young composer on the rise Jessie Montgomery starts listeners off with a feature for the LSO string section. Ms. Montgomery’s “Starburst” is a bright explosion of sound and rhythm, and has been an audience favorite on major
Season Performance and Event Schedule, cont.

stages everywhere. Continuing the string sound celebration, award winning cello soloist Matthew Zalkind will join the LSO for Pyotr Tchaikovsky’s beloved “Rococo Variations”. This piece of music deftly weaves late Romantic era and mid 18th century compositional styles into something that remains fresh and engaging to our 21st century ears. The LSO wind section will launch us into yet another tone color world with Richard Strauss’ Serenade for 13 winds before the full chamber orchestra gathers on stage for Haydn’s 96th symphony. All of this from the beautiful and intimate setting of Stewart Auditorium at the Longmont Museum makes for a memorable concert experience.

Purchase tickets

Share This Post, Choose Your Platform!

Go to Top