Loading Events
purchase tickets


SAMUEL BARBER Knoxville: Summer of 1915
ANTONIN DVOŘÁK Symphony No. 9 in E minor, Op. 95 “From the New World”

Antonin Dvořák’s beloved “New World Symphony”, composed in 1893 while touring and teaching in New York and Iowa, incorporates Native American musical rhythms and African-American spiritual influences. Dvořák’s call to action for young composers to create a distinctly American sound was to learn and promote the music being created by these communities. The simple elegant melody from the Largo movement of the symphony was later set to words and is now widely known as “Goin’ Home”.

Samuel Barber composed “Knoxville: Summer of 1915” in 1947 and based on a text by James Agee from 1938. It is one of the most beautiful and stirring pieces of music for soprano and full orchestra, filled with imagery of a growing America finding its way through the observations of a child in a small town community.   “Simply phenomenal” soprano Leberta Lorál, fresh from a special Presidential Inauguration performance, joins the LSO to further elevate this American Nostalgia program.


Share This Post, Choose Your Platform!

Go to Top